animation_portfolio_workshop_char_des_contest_2014_winners_small_1The results are in.  Here are the 2014 APW Character Design Contest winners.  Each character design showed creativity and genuine sense of personality - from the scary characters you'd never want to meet to the funny and goofy ones and everything in between, Animation Portfolio Workshop is so thoroughly impressed with the drawings and humbled by the amount of care put into the characters we have received this year.  A great big thank you to all who entered! Our special guest judge - former Disney animator Charlie Bonifacio - did not have an easy time choosing winners.  Charlie spent time carefully looking at each single drawing before finally deciding on these prize winners for the 2014 APW Character Design Contest: (click on each drawing for more...)
  • First prize (tuition to the 2014/2015 session of the APW) goes to Afia Fobi for her ballarina character design.
  • Second prize l (Apple ipad Mini from allaboutmac) goes to Hirali Patel for her scar-faced patched up emo character.
  • Natalie Chenard's well-dressed fox takes Second prize ll (Apple ipad Mini from allaboutmac)
  • Third Prize l (Fan art by character designer Nate Gaul) goes to Alysa Sotes for her performer with attitude.
  • Third Prize ll (Animation art supplies pack) goes to Jodi Maclean for her leggy majorette character.
  • Aaron Rachel Brown's rainbow-girl takes Fourth Prize (2 passes to 2014 TAAFI - Toronto Animation Arts Festival International)
  • Fifth Prize ($150 gift certificate for Curry's Art Supplies) goes to Tomi Sami's ponytailed character.
  • Heidi Ku takes Sixth Prize ($100 gift certificate from BMV Books) for her smiling character with pigtails.
  • Alexa Phillip takes Seventh Prize (1 year subsription to Animation Magazine) for her quirky character.
  • Eighth Prize (Max's design on a t-shirt from Guerilla Printing) goes to Max Leroux's psychedelic fire breathing lizard.
  • And the Runner-up Prize (Animation art books from Labyrinth Books) goes to Jeanna Patterson.
    • Many thanks go to APW's special guest judge Charlie Bonifacio for spending so much time and care selecting 2014's winners.
animation_portfolio_workshop_char_des_contest_2014_1 animation_portfolio_workshop_char_des_contest_2014_2 animation_portfolio_workshop_char_des_contest_2014_3   apw_banner_2015_rules_guidelines